Saturday, 29 November 2014

This Mortal Coil - Blood [12", 2LP, Promo]

Another great find at the Utrecht record fair last weekend was this promo edition on Rough Trade of the BLOOD album by THIS MORTAL COIL. I like the band's (or project might be a better word) first album It'll End In Tears better because of Cocteau Twins and Dead Can Dance appearances, but this one's got some excellent tunes and participations of fine artists as well. You And Your Sister, the Big Star song performed by Kim Deal and Tanya Donelly, is a perfect example. But also Syd Barrett's Late Night, performed by Caroline Crawley of Shelleyan Orphan is amazing.
So this is a promo edition on one of the labels 4AD licensed it to: Rough Trade in Germany. It's got white labels and comes in a record company sleeve. The runout grooves show the 4AD catalogue number (DAD 1005) but the sticker on the sleeve mentions the Rough Trade details plus release date 22-04-1991.
There was also an original fax included with my copy, from the Rough Trade Records GmbH headquarters (dated 18-04-1991) with track info. I like those authentic details.
Like said, a great find, and on top of that it's in absolutely perfect condition. That's often the case with promo copies because they normally don't get played that often.

Label: 4AD / Rough Trade DAD 1005 / RTD 120.1218.1/2/4 
Year of release: 1991

01. The Lacemaker
02. Mr. Somewhere
03. Andialu
04. With Tomorrow
05. Loose Joints
06. You And Your Sister

01. Nature's Way
02. I Come And Stand At Every Door
03. Bitter
04. Baby Ray Baby
05. Several Times

01. The Lacemaker II
02. Late Night
03. Ruddy And Wretched
04. Help Me Lift You Up
05. Carolyn's Song
06. D.D. and E.

01. 'Til I Gain Control Again
02. Dreams Are Like Water
03. I Am The Cosmos
04. (Nothing But) Blood

No comments:

Post a Comment