Wednesday, 30 December 2015

Lush - Ciao! Best Of Lush [12", 2LP]

The compilation album CIAO! BEST OF LUSH was not released on vinyl originally when it came out in 2001. But when LUSH announced this year they were getting back together, 4AD decided it would be a good idea to do so after all, and for the occasion of Black Friday they made a limited coloured edition. I really hope that in the near future they'll do reissues of the regular albums as well, or at least of Split, since that's pretty hard these days to get in good condition for a good price. Same for Lovelife, but musically that's not as appealing as the first two albums - not only to my opinion, but to many others' as well. The label also released a great 5CD box called Chorus, by the way. It contains Lush's complete studio recordings and is definitely recommended if you're not only buying stuff on vinyl. Anyway, it's great that this compilation got the vinyl treatment. In reversed chronological order you hear the best tracks (or at least, sort of) that they ever released, and both the artwork and the red vinyl itself look great. The only thing that could've been done slightly better to my opinion are the sleeve notes, by either adding something about the band getting back together by the same author, or by someone else. Now everything's written in the past tense, about a band that sadly ended when Chris Acland committed suicide. Of course, this is in a way a reissue even though it's the first time it's out on vinyl, so a straight copy of the original release including the original sleeve notes is perfectly understandable. However the reason why it came out now, and the fact that the band is seemingly not planning to let it be a bunch of one-off reunion shows, might as well have been left noticed somewhere on this release. Fact is that 2016 promises to become a great year for Lush fans. A tour, an EP, and who knows what else they'll have in store. I really hope they'll play in Holland, just like Slowdive and Ride did over the past 2 years. Possibly at the Best Kept Secret Festival, like those bands? Fingers crossed!

Label: 4AD CAD2K22
Year of release: 2015

01. Ladykillers
02. Single Girl
03. Ciao!
04. 500 (Shake Baby Shake)
05. Light From A Dead Star

01. Love At First Sight
02. Hypocrite
03. Desire Lines
04. Lovelife

01. When I Die
02. Nothing Natural
03. Untogether
04. For Love

01. Monochrome
02. De-Luxe
03. Sweetness And Light
04. Thoughtforms
05. Etheriel

No comments:

Post a Comment