Sunday, 12 June 2016

Minor Victories - Minor Victories [12", LP]

They've been called a "super-group", due to the fact that most of the band members play in wellknown other bands (Editors, Slowdive, Mogwai). MINOR VICTORIES just released their debut album and i love it. It's absolutely gorgeous. Even though all parts were recorded separately, it's barely noticeable. Besides Stuart Braithwaite (Mogwai), Rachel Goswell (Slowdive), Justin Lockey (Editors) and his brother James Lockey, there are also guest appearances. The song with James Graham (from The Twilight Sad), Scattered Ashes (Song For Richard), is one of my favourite songs on the album. For You Always, a duet between Rachel Goswell and Mark Kozelek (Sun Kil Moon, Red House Painters) is musically perhaps not the most adventurous one, but the lyrics are very personal and therefore interesting. Folk Arp is a beauty as well, and so is Breaking My Light. I'd love to see these people play live together, and they will be playing some festivals this summer, but unfortunately i can't make it to any of their shows. Bummer! Hope there will be a second chance for some club shows eventually.

Year of release: 2016

01. Give Up The Ghost
02. A Hundred Ropes
03. Breaking My Light
04. Scattered Ashes (Song For Richard)
05. Folk Arp

01. Cogs
02. For You Always
03. Out To Sea
04. The Thief
05. Higher Ropes

No comments:

Post a Comment