Sunday, 10 January 2016

Ringo Deathstarr - Pure Mood [12", LP]

PURE MOOD by RINGO DEATHSTARR is already out for some time now. Despite the fact it was listed at #13 in my Finest Vinyl of 2015 list, i hadn't had the time yet to write something about it. It's their fifth album, and i must say it's yet another awesome release by this Austin TX trio. And it's loud! Heavy Metal Suicide reminds me of the louder songs by Smashing Pumpkins (like Bullet With Butterfly Wings or Zero) while Big Bopper definitely has a Slow-vibe (one of MBV's best songs).
Show Me The Truth Of Your Love on the other hand is as gently as can be. My favourite track is Guilt. I think it's actually one of the best songs they ever did, with Alex' sweet vocals over a a really powerful groove. Also this song sounds a bit like Smashing Pumpkins, which in this case isn't all that weird because Jeff Schroeder plays some guitar on it. All in all, this album rocks. Colour Trip is still my favourite Ringo Deathstarr album, but this one comes probably right after that now. And if i'd had the time to play it more often before i made that yearlist, it would've been in the top 10 somewhere. Ah well, who cares. Club AC30 made 500 vinyl copies: 250 on "lemonade yellow" and 250 on "minty green". I've got that last version as you can see on the picture, and it looks pretty cool.

Label: Club AC30 AC3012111
Year of release: 2015

01. Dream Again
02. Heavy Metal Suicide
03. Stare At The Sun
04. Show Me The Truth Of Your Love
05. Big Bopper
06. Guilt
07. California Car Collection

01. Frisbee
02. Boys In Heat
03. Never
04. Old Again
05. Acid Tongue

No comments:

Post a Comment