Thursday, 29 May 2014

Various Artists - Doing It For The Kids [12", LP]

This legendary compilation on Creation Records was something i've been looking for for quite a while. Ten days ago I went to London to see Slowdive and while i was over anyway, of course i had to do some vinyl digging. UK labels Creation and 4AD releases being my main interest, i thought that London would be the place to be to find some nice rarities. And although i did find a few nice things like this compilation and some other stuff i'll be writing about on this blog sooner or later, the general impression of the vinyl stores in London sadly wasn't too good. I mostly walked around in Soho, Camden and Islington but most of the few stores that i came across (only around 12 in total) were pretty expensive or just not very well-assorted. Sister Ray, Reckless, Rough Trade East and Flashback were definitely the best ones. Ah well; perhaps i just expected too much of a city with 7.5 million inhabitants.
Back to the vinyl: this DOING IT FOR THE KIDS LP was released in August 1988 (on the same day as You Made Me Realise by My Bloody Valentine and Destroy The Heart by The House Of Love) and was preceeded by a concert in Kentish Town where many of the featured bands were playing, like My Bloody Valentine, The House Of Love, Felt, Heidy Berry and Primal Scream. The compilation states on the cover that it's an 'LP for the price of a 7" single'. That's not really what it goes for anymore these days, athough i must say that this copy was fairly priced. I've seen another one later in another store and that was 3 times more expensive, while the condition of this copy was actually better. All in all this is a great compilation and i'm happy i can finally add this to my Creation collection.

Label: Creation Records CRELP 037
Year of release: 1988

02. FELT - Ballad Of The Band
03. THE HOUSE OF LOVE - Christine
04. THE WEATHER PROPHETS - Well Done Sonny
05. PRIMALSCREAM - All Fall Down
06. BIFF BANG POW! - She Paints

01. HEIDI BERRY - North Shore Train
02. NIKKI SUDDEN - Death Is Hanging Over Me
03. MY BLOODY VALENTINE - Cigarette In My Bed
04. PACIFIC - Jetstream
05. THE TIMES - Godevil
06. MOMUS - A Complete History Of Sexual Jealousy (Parts 17-24)
07. EMILY - Reflect On Rye
08. RAZORCUTS - Brighter Now

No comments:

Post a Comment