Saturday, 19 April 2014

Ringo Deathstarr - God's Dream [12", EP]

GOD'S DREAM by RINGO DEATHSTARR came out only on CD in Japan on the Vinyl Junkie label late 2013, with a slightly different tracklisting. The first vinyl pressings were released in the US on Neon Sigh/Noyes Records in March 2014, and a month later we finally have the European version on Invada for Record Store Day 2014. The European version has a yellowish cover instead of a greenish one, and it replaces the song See You with Over There. This version is on yellow vinyl and there are only 500 copies made. That's about as limited as i personally like to see RSD releases to be made, to be honest, and i think Invada did a great job with that. I don't know how it is with the US pressings since i don't own one (yet), but while the sleeve and centre labels show Shut Your Eyes as the closing song for side A and Chainsaw Morning as the opening song for side B, it's actually the other way around. Minor detail of course, because it's the music that matters. And Ringo Deathstarr can do little wrong in my eyes. I've become a pretty big fan of this band over the past years, and this new release is right up there with their previous work. They have some pretty cool guest appearances this time around as well: Jeff Schroeder of Smashing Pumpkins, with whom they toured a few years ago, on Chainsaw Morning - and Adam Franklin of Swervedriver on Flower Power and Nowhere. The last one being my favourite song; for now, at least. I've only listened to the EP a few times so far so that might change over the next few weeks.

Label: Invada INV113LP
Year of release: 2014

01. Bong Load
02. God's Dream
03. Flower Power
04. Chainsaw Morning *

01. Shut Your Eyes *
02. Over There
03. Nowhere

* tracklisting on the sleeve and centre labels mix these tracks up

No comments:

Post a Comment